CEDA unveils unified health and safety accreditation

building-1080602 crop
The CEDA SAFE health and safety accreditation is for any company involved with design and installation in the catering equipment industry.

CEDA has launched CEDA SAFE, a health and safety accreditation standard for the catering installation and design industry.

The accreditation is available to any company working in the sector that achieves the necessary health and safety levels and covers both design and installation businesses.

It has been devised as a result of discussions with the Health & Safety Executive, which has highlighted a need to reduce bureaucracy and the cost of the various pre-qualification assessments, by establishing a single assessment standard for the industry.

Story continues below

It is designed to be the most efficient accreditation to attain in terms of the paperwork required, as well as being the most cost-effective scheme to achieve. Yet CEDA reports it achieves the same level of core criteria as all of the other schemes that are in the marketplace at the moment.

The accreditation requires the absolute necessary information but no more, so it should not be diluted in order to make its attainment easy or cheap.

Companies that offer design and installation services can achieve the CEDA SAFE accreditation in order to promote their businesses as operating to the highest levels of independently verified health and safety, hitting all of the core criteria as required by the HSE.

For those that sub-contract elements of the project installation, they can assess sub-contractors by insisting that they have CEDA SAFE accreditation.

Suppliers or manufacturers of equipment that use sub-contractors for installation and maintenance, can assess those sub-contractors by insisting they have CEDA SAFE accreditation. So, they should not need to create their own assessment documents to send out to their entire supply-chain to then verify and administer.

While sub-contractor companies should not need to complete form after form for company after company that they want to work with.

Businesses that already hold any of the following certifications – CHAS, Exor, SMAS, NHBC Safemark, Altius, Eurosafe, APS, Alcumus, Safe-T-Cert, MSL Safepartner, Greenlight, CQMS, HSAS, Acclaim, Avetta, ARB, FASET, PASS, PQS, NASC, IPAF, Achilles or ACDC – are required to complete a form giving their company details and submit along with a valid certificate and supporting documents and pay a fee of £120 plus VAT annually.

Those that do not already hold any of these certifications then are required to complete a 28 page document and submit along with the necessary supporting documentation, pay a fee of £250 plus VAT in the first year and then £150 annually thereafter.

Commenting on the new initiative CEDA director general Adam Mason said: “I’m delighted to bring this initiative to the industry after several months of development work. It will save companies time, money and enable them to promote themselves as attaining a credible accreditation having been independently assessed by an expert, independent third-party. CEDA SAFE will add further value to members, partners and the wider industry.”

Tags : accreditationCEDACEDA SAFEhealth and safetystandards
Clare Nicholls

The author Clare Nicholls

Leave a Response

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud